Each year, the CSBE/SCGAB presents Awards and Grade of Fellows to celebrate and encourage excellence within the Canadian bioengineering community.
Please consider nominating a member. The nominations must be received by the Committees by May 1.

Glenn Downing Award

This award is presented annually to the CSBE/SCGAB member who, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, has produced outstanding work in industry, teaching, research, or extension in the area of machinery systems, or bioenergy systems. The recipient is selected from nominations from at least three members of CSBE/SCGAB. and must have been a member of the Society for at least five years.

Ce prix est décerné chaque année à un membre qui s'est distingué dans le domaine du machinisme agricole ou en bioénergie par l'enseignement, la recherche, la vulgarisation ou le travail en industrie. Le récipiendaire du prix Glenn-Downing est choisi parmi les candidats mis en nomination par trois membres et est membre de la SCGAB/CSBE depuis au moins cinq ans.

Nomination Form

downing.rtf | downing.pdf

2013 Glenn Downing Award

damoursMr. Luc D’Amours has made significant contributions to the profession by developing innovative agricultural machinery and taking a leadership role in the manufacturing industry. Luc developed a spin-off company, FLD Biomass, in 2008 with his colleague Frédéric Lavoie to commercialize the Biobaler. This technology harvests small diameter woody crops and fibrous material and was recognized by ASABE with an AE 50 Innovation Award in 2011. In 2009, FLD Biomass merged with the Anderson Group in Chesterville, QC. Luc’s organizational skills were soon recognized as he was named Director of Operations in 2009. He now supervises 60 workers in the plant. Luc developed his design skills as an active member of Université Laval’s tractor team ULtrac during his undergraduate and graduate student years from 2000 to 2007. During ASABE ¼ Scale Tractor Competiton, ULtrac won first place in 2002 and 2nd place in 2003 and 2006. During four and a half years as a graduate student and research assistant, Luc contributed to 6 peer-reviewed papers, 23 conference presentations and 9 other publications including two patents which lead to the development of the biobaler.

2019    Viacheslav Adamchuk
2018    Venkatesh Meda
2017    Donald Petkau
2016    No recipient
2015    Carol Plouffe
2014    Qamar Zaman
2013    Luc D'Amour
2012    Hubert Landry
2011    Danny Mann
2010    Daniel Massé   
2009    No award
2008    Mark Stumborg
2007    Roger Thériault
2006    Ying Chen
2005    Bernard Panneton
2004    Robert Horne
2003    Sylvio Tessier
2002    Richard P. Atkins
2001    Claude Laguë
2000    David R. Hundeby
1999    James D. Wasserman
1998    Neil B. McLaughlin
1997    No award
1996    Philippe Savoie
1995    Reed J. Turner
1994    Edward McKyes
1993    R. Lal Kushwaha
1992    James N. Wilson
1991    Wm B. Reed
1990    No award
1989    Gerry C. Zoerb
1988    H. Page Harrison*
1987    Luc Choiniere

* Deceased