Each year, the CSBE/SCGAB presents Awards and Grade of Fellows to celebrate and encourage excellence within the Canadian bioengineering community.
Please consider nominating a member. The nominations must be received by the Committees by May 1.

Jim Beamish Award

This award is given annually to the CSBE/SCGAB member who, in the opinion of the Awards Committee, has produced outstanding work in industry, teaching, research, or extension in the area of soil and water, or environmental sciences. The Alumni Committee of Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA) sponsors the award. The recipient is selected from nominations from at least three members of CSBE/SCGAB and must have been a member of the Society for at least five years. The Jim Beamish Award was established in 1989 to honour the memory of Jim Beamish, the first president of CSBE/SCGAB and a long-time worker in soil and water, and water management.

Ce prix est décerné chaque année à un membre qui s'est distingué dans le domaine du sol et eau, ou en sciences environnementales par l'enseignment, la recherche, la vulgarisation ou le travail en industrie. Ce prix est commandité par le Comité des anciens du Prairie Farm Rehabilitation Administration (PFRA). Le récipiendaire du prix Jim-Beamish est choisi parmi les candidats mis en nomination par trois members et est membre de la SCGAB/CSBE depuis au moins cinq ans. Ce prix, établie en 1989, honore la mémoire du premier président de la SCGAB/CSBE, Monsieur Jim Beamish qui oeuvra longtemps au développement de la gestion de l'eau et des sols agricoles.

Nomination Form


2013 Jim Beamish Award

enrightMr. Peter Enright is a dedicated University Lecturer and Director of the Farm Management and Technology Program since 2006. The Farm Management and Technology Program at McGill University is a threeyear agriculture program equivalent to a technology diploma offered by a CEGEP in the Province of Quebec. As Director, Peter takes great care of all his students and he has done a great job at managing the program and maintaining student recruitment. As Director of the program, Peter also liaises with the Ministries responsible for Agriculture and Education in Quebec concerning budgetary, academic, and reporting issues as well as program updates and revisions. For his research interest, he has long been at the forefront of research in watershed management in the Québec context and in particular small basin hydrology, water quality and water management in agriculture. Peter has developed skills in the design, construction, installation and monitoring of rainfall, runoff, stream flow and water quality measurement systems; measurement of soil and water quality parameters; and has worked in developing, testing, and modifying computer simulation models which describe the soil-water-plant environment. These models are used to identify non-point source pollution on small watersheds, and to evaluate the impacts of various best management practices. Although now, he assumes a more administrative responsibility, he is still very dedicated to the water and agricultural fields and as part of his teaching responsibilities he is ensuring the training of the next generations of agricultural specialists and farm managers are equipped to address soil and water quality issues in a sustainable manner. A long-time member of CSBE, he has attended many conferences at ASABE, NABEC and CSBE venues.

2018    Nazim Cicek
2017    Denis Choinière
2016    Ted van der Gulik
2015    Murray Tenove
2014    Kevin McKague
2013    Peter Enright
2012    No awards
2011    Ranjan Sri Ranjan
2010    Robert Lagacé
2009    R.P. Stone
2008    No award
2007    No award
2006    Robert Bonnell
2005    Sietan Chieng
2004    No award 
2003    No award
2002    Harold Steppuhn
2001    Jean-Louis. Daigle
2000    C.A. Madramootoo
1999    John E. Metzger
1998    Jack R. Burney
1997    David S. Chanasyk
1996    Ali Madani
1995    Shiv O. Prasher
1994    Ramesh P. Rudra
1993    Paul Milburn
1992    John K. Higgins
1991    Aly M. Shady
1990    Egon Rapp
1989    Robert S. Broughton

* Deceased