Each year, the CSBE/SCGAB presents Awards and Grade of Fellows to celebrate and encourage excellence within the Canadian bioengineering community.
Please consider nominating a member. The nominations must be received by the Committees by May 1.

Maple Leaf Award

This award is given to honour members of the CSBE/SCGAB who have distinguished themselves as leaders in the profession. It is the highest award made by the Society in recognition of leadership in the profession. The award is given for outstanding personal qualities, society activities, and professional abilities. The award recipient is selected from nominations from five members of the CSBE/SCGAB and must receive the unanimous consent of the Awards Committee. The recipient must have been a member of the Society for at least ten years.

Ce prix est remis à un membre qui s'est distingué par ses qualités de chef au sein de la profession. C'est le prix le plus prestigieux de la SCGAB/CSBE et il est remis en reconnaissance de leadership pour l'avancement de la profession. Il souligne des qualités personnelles, des activités au sein de la SCGAB/CSBE, une contribution remarquable et des compétences professionnelles. Le récipiendaire est choisi parmi les candidats mis en nomination par cinq membres. Il doit recevoir l'appui unanime des membres du comité des distinctions. Le récipiendaire est membre de la SCGAB/CSBE depuis au moins dix ans.

Nomination Form

maple.rtf | maple.pdf

2013 Maple Leaf Award

mclaughlinDr. Neil McLaughlin is receiving the 2013 CSBE Maple Leaf Award for his contributions to engineering for agricultural, food and biological systems through service to CSBE/SCGAB, ASABE, and society via extension and research activities. Dr. McLaughlin grew up on a farm in Eastern Ontario, and received his degrees from the University of Guelph, University of Saskatchewan, and Cornell University, all in agricultural engineering. He worked for two years as an agricultural engineering extension specialist with the Ontario government, and over 40 years with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) as an engineer and a research scientist in Lethbridge, AB, Swift Current, SK and Ottawa, ON. Dr. McLaughlin has served on editorial boards of six scientific journals including three terms, one as editor-in-chief, on the editorial board of Canadian Agricultural / Biosystems Engineering. He was a member and held offices in many ASABE technical committees, and regional and national advisory committees. He has held adjunct professorships at six universities in Canada and China, and served on the graduate student or thesis review committees of 14 graduate students in Canada, and six visiting Ph.D. students from universities in China. He has provided engineering input and leadership in many collaborative research projects with soils and crops scientists at government, university and industry centres in Eastern Canada and has enhanced their field experiments to yield engineering information. His research program has a strong technology transfer component with numerous presentations at farm and public events. He designed and staffed exhibits for major farm shows including Canada’s Outdoor Farm Show, International Plowing Match, and Royal Agricultural Winter Fair. He has established collaborative research with China in conservation tillage, and he has provided substantial help in writing scientific manuscripts to many Ph.D. students in Canada and China. He is widely recognized among the Chinese Ph.D. students as one of the best mentors. 

2018    Ramesh Rudra
2017    Qiang Zhang
2016    Shiv Prasher
2015    Stefan Centkowski
2014    Bernard Panneton
2013    Neil McLaughlin
2012    Dr. Jim Townsend
2011    Daniel Massé
2010    Clément Vigneault
2009    Shahab Sokhansanj
2008    Ronald D. MacDonald
2007    Digvir S. Jayas
2006    John Feddes
2005    Abdel E. Ghaly
2004    R. Lal Kushwaha
2003    Philippe Savoie
2002    No award
2001    K. Christopher Watts
2000    Ernest M. Barber
1999    Lambert Otten
1998    William E. Muir
1997    G.S. Vijaya Raghavan
1996    No award
1995    Jan Jofriet
1994    E. Martin Wrubleski
1993    Ron Britton
1992    Don Norum
1991    Ed Brubaker
1990    No award
1989    Brian McQuitty
1988    No award
1987    Walter Bilanski
1986    Denis Desilets
1985    Jack Pos
1984    John Turnbull
1983    Gerry Zoerb
1982    John Ogilvie
1981    Garland Laliberte
1980    Herb Lapp
1979    Ron Robinson
1978    Robert Broughton
1977    Len Staley*

* Deceased