Each year, the CSBE/SCGAB presents Awards and Grade of Fellows to celebrate and encourage excellence within the Canadian bioengineering community.
Please consider nominating a member. The nominations must be received by the Committees by May 1.

Young Eng of the Year Award

This award is given to recognize the outstanding work of a young engineer of the Society and to encourage outstanding work by young members of the Society. A recipient must be under 40 years of age as of January 1 in the year that the award is made. This award is given for outstanding contributions to Canadian agricultural, food, and/or biological engineering Prior to 1993 this award was known as "The Canadian Agricultural Engineer of the Year Award". From 1993 to 1996 this award was known as the "Young Agricultural Engineer of the Year Award". The award recipient is selected from nominations by three members of the CSBE/SCGAB and must receive the unanimous consent of the Awards Committee.

Ce prix est décerné pour faire connaître et encourager le travail exceptionnel de jeunes membres de la SCGAB/CSAE. Il est réservé aux membres de moins de 40 ans. Le prix souligne une contribution exceptionnelle en génie rural, alimentaire ou biologique par la conception, le développement, la vulgarisation, la gestion, la recherche ou l'enseignement. Avant 1993, ce prix était connu comme «The Canadian Agricultural Engineer of the Year Award». De 1993 à 1996, ce prix était connu comme «Young Agricultural Engineer of the Year Award». Le récipiendaire est choisi parmi les candidats mis en nomination par trois membres. Il doit recevoir l'appui unanime des membres du comité des distinctions et est membre de la SCGAB/CSAE depuis au moins trois ans.

Nomination Form 

young.rtf | young.pdf

 2013 Young Engineer of the Year award

landryDr. Hubert Landry has been involved in agricultural engineering since joining the undergraduate program at Université Laval in 1995. He then pursued graduate studies to obtain a Master’s degree from Université Laval and a doctorate for the University of Saskatchewan. Throughout his graduate studies, Dr. Landry has made original contributions to the field of agricultural machinery. Since joining the Prairie Agricultural Machinery Institute (PAMI) in 2005, Dr. Landry has successfully expanded PAMI’s research and development activities by obtaining research funds as a principal investigator and by collaborating with other engineers and researchers from PAMI and other research institutions. Through his education and professional experiences, Dr. Landry has developed strong expertise in modeling and simulation of mechanical systems and their interactions with agricultural products. He has authored and co-authored numerous peer-reviewed publications and continues to act as a reviewer for several scientific journals. Dr. Landry is currently the Machinery Systems Engineering Section Editor for Canadian Biosystems Engineering Journal. He is also a member of NSERC’s Mechanical Engineering Evaluation Group.

2018    Satyanarayan Dev
2017    Marie-Josée Dumont
2016    Jan Adamowski
2015    Suresh Neethirajan
2014    René Morissette
2013    Hubert Landry
2012    Jitendra Paliwal
2011    Amit Kumar
2010    Martin Roberge
2009    Jake DeBruyn
2008    Valérie Orsat
2007    Satyanarayan Panigrah
2006    Danny Mann
2005    Carol Plouffe
2004    Stéphane Godbout
2003    Michael O. Ngadi
2002    Trever Crowe
2001    Robert Gordon
2000    Stéphane P. Lemay
1999    No award
1998    Claude Laguë
1997    No award
1996    Ronald D. MacDonald
1995    Digvir S. Jayas
1994    No Award
1993    Clair Gartley
1992    Chandra Madramootoo
1991    Yves Choinière
1990    Craig Lindwall
1989    Jeremy Leonard
1988    Sietan Chieng
1987    Dennis Hodgkinson
1986    Ernest M. Barber
1985    K.Chris Watts
1984    K. Victor Lo
1983    Ken Boyd
1982    Wm Muir
1981    Wm. Reed*
1980    Harold Jackson
1979    Erling Nyborg
1978    Marvin Klein*
1977    Wm. Carsonl

* Deceased